Absolutes…?

A few months ago I found myself stationed in a leather backed chair sitting before an ornate wooden desk being given an audience with the occupier of that desk. I was in the study of a local pastor. I was rambling incessantly or more accurately pulling myself into a thousand different conversational directions as I often have a tendency to do. A good friend suggested that even though I do seem to take the long way around or the scenic route as it were in getting to my point I do in fact make my point in the end. This was no doubt this was the case of this particular meeting. It’s hard for me to recount the specifics of my dialogue or the exact utterances of my elongated monologue I do know that in my mouth’s exhaustive attempt to maintain the pace of my mind I was trying to express the inexpressible and the insatiable nature of a hunger growing within. I was striving ,quite clumsily I might add, to explain an inexplicable awakening brought about by the better part of a year’s worth of soul searching, prayer, and intense reading of just about anything I could get my hands on grasping at an emerging truth. I was seeing for the first time, full of questions and loving every minute of it. I was eager to deconstruct the sacred cows and misconceptions held unquestionably dear and in their place build something beautiful in the divine reality of grace and justice and truth. I shudder to refer to these thoughts and feelings in the past tense as they encapsulate ever so clearly my current thoughts, feelings, and desires. I had discovered as David Dark so aptly and eloquently put it “the sacredness of questioning everything”.

Of the details that do stick out in my memory regarding this conversation was the pastor’s constant reminder that “you must remember there are absolutes”. If I can say that there was a central theme to his topical contributions it was this notion that there are “absolutes”. My recognition of the existence of “absolutes” seemed to be his chief concern and yet in my mind I was by no mean’s questioning that or was I? Although “absolutes” had nothing to do with what I was so deeply wanting to convey and though at first I didn’t disagree I have to admit that something just didn’t feel right about those statements. Something was amiss. Such a statement seems all to obvious given the fact that these events took place months ago and they still occupy a piece of my mental real estate. It raised an important question. I had to take a step back and ask my self “do I believe there are absolutes?”.

While there are those who are far more philosophically and theologically informed on this particular topic than I it has as of yet to stop me from chiming in. After much internal debating, which just so happens to be my favorite kind mostly just because it’s the only kind I can win, I came to believe that I don’t absolutely believe in “absolutes”. While it does seem like a bold move to take a stance disavowing the existence of “absolutes” perhaps I should elaborate.

It seems that throughout history man kind has been obsessed with forming absoluteness in the concepts of the workings of the world or the way we see it and what we believe about it. We seek out concrete rigidity and stern distinctions with a feverish ferocity unlike anything else. We live to categorize, rationalize, and any other -ize you could think of. At one point in time it was an accepted “absolute” truth that the world was flat. It was “absolutely” true that the Earth was the center of the universe. When Galileo first presented his notions that the Earth was not the center of the universe the Church surmised that based Josh 10:12 the Earth must be the universe’s constant and static center. They condemned him, declared him to be a heretic, and under threat of death forced him to recant. Nearly 350 years later in 1991 the Vatican finally declared that Galileo was right. To bring the story a little closer to home in 1954 the four minute mile was “absolutely impossible” until Roger Bannister did it. It has now become the standard of all professional middle distance runners. In the last 50 years the four minute barrier has been beaten again and again lowering the mile record by almost 17 seconds. Yet our culture and society as a whole still remains predominantly reductionistic. We must give up the pursuit of a singular answer. The way of faith is a journey not a destination, more questions than answers, and an open armed embracing of doubt rather than a discarding denial of it.

Destination mentalities are divisive. They center on an acceptance of a single commonality and the exclusion of everyone and everything to the contrary. They are based on deciding who’s wrong, who’s right, who’s in, and who’s out, a world of absolutes, bouncers, and velvet ropes.

As Rob Bell so aptly put it in his book Velvet Elvis, “Our words aren’t absolutes. Only God is absolute, and God has no intention of sharing this absoluteness with anything, especially words people have come up with to talk about him”. He went on to say that “The moment God is figured out with nice neat lines and definitions, we are no longer dealing with God. We are dealing with somebody we made up. And if we made him up , then we are in control. And so in passage after passage, we find God reminding people that he is beyond and bigger and more.”

This life, these faiths, this world, and especially it’s divine creator are “beyond and bigger and more”. Too complex to comprehend, too big to be reduced, it can’t be pinned down and our job is the very opposite. It is our task to keep moving forward. It is our duty to keep moving the mile markers further, to keep pushing the boundaries, to wrestle with absoluteness, and to fight certainty. Ecclesia reformata, semper reformanda: the church reformed and always RE-FORMING. This is our destiny, our duty, our call, this is who we were and are meant to be.

One response to “Absolutes…?

Leave a Reply

